Wakodahatchee Wetlands Bird Watching

Wakodahatchee is considered one of the best sites to view birds in South Florida.  Located in Delray, it has ample parking and a ¾ mile boardwalk that takes you over the top of wetlands where you can view alligators, turtles, fish and many different species of plant and bird life.

Blue Heron 20x20nwm-5

Saturday morning I joined my photography group to photograph birds.  I’m not an early morning person and getting to the reserve at 7AM was an effort. When I arrived, I was very surprised to see that the parking lot was almost full, who else but a bunch of avid photographers would get up so early in the morning. I soon found out that the mornings are magic.

DSC_0873-6

My group was already set up with huge lenses and having a great time enjoying each other and sharing technical information on how to shoot the birds. The sunrise was spectacular and the  birds were active building their nests.

DSC_0332-20

This is one of our favorite walks in the evening, but I am now a convert to morning walks.

DSC_0054-12

Enjoy some of the birds of Wakodahatchee.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

http://www.pbcgov.com/waterutilities/wakodahatchee/what_is_wakodahatchee.htm

~ by Patricia Turo on January 26, 2014.

One Response to “Wakodahatchee Wetlands Bird Watching”

  1. I love the image of the two Wakodahatchee herons that look like they’re sharing breakfast! I’m writing to request permission to paint them. I’m still classified as a “beginner” but absolutely love painting and this image touched me. If the painting turns out, I’ll give credit to you and send you a print. Would that work for you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
